Canadian Football League

Wednesday, October 31, 2007

Finalists announced for Canadian Football League Awards

For the first time in more than 30 years, a Saskatchewan Roughriders quarterback is a finalist for the Canadian Football League's Most Outstanding Player award.
'Riders quarterback Kerry Joseph was named today the West Division nominee for the league's top award, while Winnipeg pivot Kevin Glenn was the East nominee, as the league announced its finalists for the 2007 Rogers CFL player awards,
Heading into the final weekend of regular-season action, Glenn tops all quarterbacks with 4,918 yards passing, including 25 touchdown passes and 12 interceptions. Joseph, who led Saskatchewan to its first home playoff game since 1988, is third in passing with 3,910 yards, 24 majors and just eight interceptions.

The last Saskatchewan quarterback to be a finalist for the league's MVP was 1976 when Ron Lancaster won the honour.
The voting panel is comprised of members of the Football Reporters of Canada representing the eight CFL cities, and the league's head coaches.
Joseph's nominee spoiled a sweep by the B.C. Lions, who picked up all the West nominees in the other five award categories.
Lions slotback Jason Clermont is up for the top Canadian award, while Winnipeg defensive end Doug Brown got the nod in the East Division.
Lions defensive end Cameron Wake is up against Toronto defensive end Jonathan Brown for top defensive player honours, while B.C.'s Rob Murphy and Winnipeg's Dan Goodspeed will vie for the offensive lineman award.
Wake, who led the CFL with 16 quarterback sacks, is also the best in the west for the top rookie honour. He'll be up against Hamilton kicker/punter Nick Setta from the East.
B.C. running back Ian Smart, who led the league in punt return and kickoff return yardage, is up for the special teams player award against Toronto running back Dominique Dorsey.
The winners will be announced on Nov. 22 in Toronto during Grey Cup week


Post a Comment

<< Home