Canadian Football League

Wednesday, October 24, 2007

Canadian Football League Award Nominees

TORONTO - CFL rushing leader Joe Smith of the B.C. Lions and quarterback Kevin Glenn, the league's top passer, were named their teams' nominees for the CFL's outstanding player award Wednesday.
This is the first round of balloting for the awards, which will be presented next month during Grey Cup week. Voting was conducted by members of the Football Reporters of Canada as well as the eight CFL head coaches.
Smith, who has run for a league-leading 1,385 yards and 18 touchdowns, was the Lions' nominee for the outstanding player award. B.C. defensive end Cameron Wake (CFL-best 15 sacks) was nominated for top rookie and defensive player while Rob Murphy - last year's top lineman - was selected for the honour again this year. Kick-returner Ian Smart - the CFL's top punt and kickoff returner) was a unanimous selected for special-teams player.
Glenn is leading the CFL in pass attempts (546), completions (352) and yards (4,737) and is second in TD passes (25). The other Bombers nominees include defensive tackle Doug Brown (unanimous, top Canadian), rush end Tom Canada (defensive player), Dan Goodspeed (unanimous, top lineman), linebacker Cam Hall (unanimous, rookie) and safety Kyries Hebert (special teams).
Linebacker Zeke Moreno and kicker Nick Setta were both double nominees for the Hamilton Tiger-Cats. Moreno - second in the CFL in tackles with 101 - was the club's pick as top player and defensive player while Setta - who's second in CFL scoring with 147 points - was selected as the top rookie and special-teams player. The other Ticats nominees were running back Jesse Lumsden (Canadian) and centre Marwan Hage (lineman).
Toronto defensive end Jonathon Brown was also a double selection. Brown, tied for third in the CFL with 11 sacks, was the Argos nominee as top player and defensive player. The other picks were linebacker Kevin Eiben (Canadian), guard Taylor Robertson (lineman), receiver Obed Cetoute (rookie) and returner Dominique Dorsey (special teams).
Veteran slotback Ben Cahoon and cornerback both captured two honours with Montreal. Cahoon was named the club's top Canadian and player while Drew was nominated for outstanding rookie and defensive player. Guard Scott Flory (unanimous, lineman) and linebacker Walter Spencer (special teams) were the other selections.
The Saskatchewan Roughriders had four unanimous selections: quarterback Kerry Joseph (top player); slotback Andy Fantuz (Canadian); end Fred Perry (defensive player); and defensive lineman John Chick (rookie). The other nominees were centre Jeremy O'Day (lineman) and kicker Luca Congi (special teams).
Quarterback Henry Burris was a unanimous pick as Calgary's outstanding player, and with good reason. Despite missing two starts with a shoulder injury, Burris is ranked third in CFL passing with 3,898 yards but has thrown a league-high 31 TD passes.
The other Calgary nominees are: receiver Brett Ralph (Canadian); defensive back Shannon James (defensive player); guard Jay McNeil (lineman); defensive end Tearrius George (rookie); and kicker Sandro DeAngelis (special teams).
Receiver Kamau Peterson (Canadian) and running back Tyler Ebell (rookie) were Edmonton's unanimous selections. The others included: quarterback Ricky Ray (top player); cornerback Jason Goss (defensive player); guard Joe McGrath (lineman) and fullback Mathieu Bertrand (special teams).
The division nominees will be announced next week.


Post a Comment

<< Home