Canadian Football League

Tuesday, January 24, 2006

Canadian Football League finalists for CFL Coach of the year award

Danny Maciocia, who led the Edmonton Eskimos to a Grey Cup title in his first year at the helm, Michael (Pinball) Clemons of the Toronto Argonauts and Tom Higgins of the Calgary Stampeders are the finalists for the CFL's Coach of the Year award.
The winner of the Annis Stukus Trophy, selected by the 51 voting members of the Football Reporters of Canada, will be announced Feb. 23 during a luncheon in Toronto.
The award is given to the coach who demonstrates exceptional leadership, discipline and dedication to excellence during the regular season.
Maciocia capped his rookie season as the Eskimos head coach by watching his team earn a 38-35 overtime decision over the Montreal Alouettes in the Grey Cup game in November. The Eskimos finished the regular season with an 11-7 record under Maciocia, who also called offensive plays for the team.
Clemons earned his fourth straight nomination after leading Toronto to an 11-7 record in 2005 and to top spot in the East Division for the first time since 1997.

In his first season as head coach, Higgins guided the Stamps to a dramatic improvement from the 2004 season when they finished 4-14. In 2005, Calgary finished with an 11-7 record, second in the West Division. The Stampeders played their first home playoff game since 2001 and had their first winning record since 2000.
Higgins won the award in 2003 while leading Edmonton.


Post a Comment

<< Home