Canadian Football League

Sunday, December 05, 2004

WINNIPEG, MB – The Canadian Football League announced today that the 2004 CFL Coach of the Year Luncheon will be held in Winnipeg on February 24, 2005.

Hosted by the Winnipeg Blue Bombers, the event is perennially attended by all nine CFL head coaches who join in saluting the Coach of the Year as selected by the Football Reporters of Canada (FRC). The winner receives the Annis Stukus Trophy, last awarded to Tom Higgins for the 2003 season. Open to the public, tickets for the luncheon will be available through the Winnipeg Blue Bombers office with further details to be released.

The Coach of the Year celebration is the culmination of the CFL Congress which will also be held in the city from February 22nd to 24th. Attended by senior League and Team staff from all facets of the business, the Congress sets the stage for the 2005 season.

“This is the first time in many years that the Coach of the Year has been staged outside of Edmonton, and done so with the CFL Congress attached to it,” said Lyle Bauer, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Winnipeg Blue Bombers. “We welcome the opportunity to host our partners from across the League as we preview our city in advance of the 2006 Grey Cup.”


Post a Comment

<< Home