Canadian Football League

Wednesday, October 25, 2006

Canadian Football League award nominees

Montreal Alouettes slotback Ben Cahoon is among five first-time nominees for the CFL's outstanding player award this season.

The league announced the 10 nominees for its yearly end-of-season honours on Tuesday, with Cahoon earning his team's nomination for the outstanding player and outstanding Canadian awards.
Forty voting members of the Football Reporters of Canada were asked to select players from their local CFL club for the six award categories. The East and West Division finalists for each of the awards will be announced on Oct. 31.
The CFL regular season wraps up Saturday and the road to the Grey Cup final begins Nov. 5 with the East and West Division semifinals.
Cahoon was named Montreal's outstanding player nominee for the first time in his career. Other first-time nominees include Toronto's Arland Bruce III, Tay Cody of the Hamilton Tiger-Cats, Calgary's Joffrey Reynolds and Geroy Simon of the B.C. Lions.
This marks the fifth year in a row Cahoon has been selected the Alouettes' nominee for outstanding Canadian. Cahoon won the award in 2002 and 2003.
Full list of nominees:
Outstanding Player East: Ben Cahoon (Montreal), Arland Bruce III (Toronto), Tay Cody (Hamilton), Charles Roberts (Winnipeg) West: Kenton Keith (Saskatchewan), Joffrey Reynolds (Calgary), Ricky Ray (Edmonton), Geroy Simon (B.C.)
Outstanding Canadian East: Ben Cahoon (Montreal), Kevin Eiben (Toronto), Rob Hitchcock (Hamilton), Doug Brown (Winnipeg) West: Scott Schultz (Saskatchewan), Sandro DeAngelis (Calgary), Dan Comiskey (Edmonton), Brent Johnson (B.C.)
Outstanding Defensive Player East: Anwar Stewart (Montreal), Byron Parker (Toronto), Tay Cody (Hamilton), Barrin Simpson (Winnipeg) West: Fred Perry (Saskatchewan), Brian Clark (Calgary), Robert Brown (Edmonton), Brent Johnson (B.C.)
Outstanding Lineman East: Scott Flory (Montreal), Jude St. John (Toronto), George Hudson (Hamilton), Ibrahim Khan (Winnipeg) West: Jeremy O'Day (Saskatchewan), Jay McNeil (Calgary), Joe McGrath (Edmonton), Rob Murphy (B.C.)
Outstanding Rookie East: Etienne Boulay (Montreal), Raymond Fontaine (Toronto), Lawrence Gordon (Hamilton), Arjei Franklin (Winnipeg) West: Luca Congi (Saskatchewan), J.R. Ruffin (Calgary), Adam Braidwood (Edmonton), Aaron Hunt (B.C.)
Outstanding Special Teams Player East: Avon Cobourne (Montreal), Noel Prefontaine (Toronto), Rob Hitchcock (Hamilton), Albert Johnson III (Winnipeg) West: Luca Congi (Saskatchewan), DeAngelis (Calgary), Mike Maurer (Edmonton), Paul McCallum (B.C.)


Post a Comment

<< Home