Canadian Football League

Thursday, February 14, 2008

Canadian Football League Coach Of The Year Finalists

The Canadian Football League (CFL) announced today the finalists for the 2007 Coach of the Year as selected by the Football Reporters of Canada (FRC). The 2007 finalists are Kent Austin (Saskatchewan Roughriders), Wally Buono (B.C. Lions) and Michael Clemons (Toronto Argonauts). The CFL Coach of the Year award recognizes the commitment and efforts of head coaches across the league, with special honours going to the coach who most demonstrates exceptional leadership, dedication and excellence during the regular season. The winner is awarded the Annis Stukus Trophy in honour of the Edmonton Eskimos and BC Lions’ head coach and great CFL ambassador, Annis Stukus. This year’s recipient will be announced at the 2008 CFL Coach of the Year Celebration in Calgary, Alberta at the Hyatt Regency during the CFL Congress. The 2007 Coach of the Year Finalists (listed in alphabetical order): Kent Austin Austin reached the pinnacle of success in his first season as a CFL head coach. After rejoining the Saskatchewan Roughriders, a team which he led to a Grey Cup as a quarterback in 1989, Austin led the team to a 12-6 regular season record and secured the club’s first home playoff game since 1988. The Roughriders went on to capture their third Grey Cup in team history. Wally Buono In his fifth season as head coach of the B.C. Lions, Buono led his club to a franchise-record 14 wins (14-4) and his fourth-straight first place finish in the West Division. He is the all-time leader in wins with both the Lions and Calgary Stampeders. Buono is one of three coaches in CFL history to win at least three Coach of the Year awards. Michael Clemons Clemons is second in all-time wins with the Toronto Argonauts and is one of just three coaches in club history to coach 100 games. Clemons led the Argos to their sixth consecutive playoff berth, tying him for the longest streak by a head coach in team history. The Argos rebounded from a 2-6 start to finish in first place in the East Division with an 11-7 record. 2008 CFL Coach of the Year Celebration When: Wednesday, February 27, 2008, 12:00pm MT Where: Hyatt Regency Calgary 700 Centre Street SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 5P6


Post a Comment

<< Home